The Reason We Do This

“Enjoying your thrift store info a lot. I am still in Oklahoma, raising 4 beauties and a set of twins to boot! I am clothing all of us on a dime! It is hard to know how to dress now, I have lost my fashion sense. but your blog is helping. Thank you! Have a great rest of summer!”

–Melissa M., Oklahoma

First, I would like to give my deepest thanks to Melissa for writing this to me. We all have days of discouragement, and her letter came to me during one of mine. It reminds me to reach out to people who have an impact on my life, even just to tell them I’m thinking of them. Small gestures can make a huge difference.

Secondly, I applaud Melissa for admitting that she’s struggling. We’re totally hardwired to keep up appearances, and the simple bravery it takes for a mother to say “I’M BROKE!” is something I wish would be more prevalent right now. Of course I wish everyone were prosperous, happy and healthy, but the reality is that a lot of people in this country have been hit, and hard. There is no shame in struggle, folks. All the cool kids are doing it!

Melissa’s post made me realize it’s time for a Thrift Store Confidential Fall Fashion Feature, which I’m busily working on now and will post soon. I’ve piled up my bedside table with dozens of fashion magazines, and am working to translate the styles into things that normal people can actually accomplish on a budget!

In the meantime, please remember that any fool can spend money. It takes intelligence to get what you want on a budget, and I salute you all for your bravery in exploring other alternatives.

Talk to you very shortly!
All Best,
Nicole

Leave a Reply

  • Any fool can spend money. It takes intelligence, creativity and bravery to get what you want at the price you can reasonably afford.
